June 26, 2005 Deadline For Machine-Readable Passport

June 6, 2005

U.S. Customs and Border Protection issued a reminder today to the 27 Visa Waiver Program (VWP) countries that by June 26, 2005 travelers from those countries must have a machine-readable passport to enter the United States without a visa.

The Department of Homeland Security announced that as of June 26, 2005, “transportation carriers will be fined $3,300, per violation, for transporting any VWP traveler to the United States without a machine-readable passport.” Ouch!

The 27 countries include: Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: