Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan

March 2, 2005

Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan to the House of Representative Financial Services Committee: “I think that immigration has been very important to the success ofthis country and I fully support it. I’m not sure I would want togive the reason that we’re creating immigration to support our Social Security system. I think we ought to do it on the grounds that it is good for the country but not because it helps the Social Security fund — because that then suggests that if we find other means to solve the Social Security problem that we shouldn’t be expanding immigration and I would not support that.”

Leave a Reply

