Filipino Migration: 1930s

February 3, 2005

“[I]n many ways it was a crime to be a Filipino in California. I came to know that the public streets were not free to my people: we were stopped each time these vigilant patrolmen saw us driving a car. We were suspect each time we were seen with a white woman. And perhaps it was this narrowing of our life into an island, into a filthy segment of American society, that had driven [some] Filipinos inward…’Please God, don’t change me in America!’ I said to myself.”
– Carlos Bulosan, America is in the Heart.

Leave a Reply

